17th International Conference on

Cryptology And Network Security

(CANS 2018)

Naples - Italy

September 30 - October 3, 2018

Overview of CANS 2018

The International Conference on Cryptology And Network Security (CANS) is a recognized annual conference, focusing on all aspects of cryptology, and of data, network, and computer security, attracting cutting-edge results from world-renowned scientists in the area. CANS 2018 will be held in  Naples (Italy) in collaboration with Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR) and Parthenope University of Naples. Earlier editions were held in Taipei ('01), San Francisco ('02), Miami ('03), Xiamen ('05), Suzhou ('06), Singapore ('07), Hong Kong ('08), Kanazawa ('09), Kuala Lumpur ('10), Sanya ('11), Darmstadt ('12), Parary ('13), Crete ('14), Marrakesh ('15), Milan ('16) and Hong Kong ('17). All accepted papers will be presented at the conference and will appear in the conference proceedings, which will be published by Springer in the LNCS series.

Topics of Interest

Areas of interest include (but are not restricted to):

Access Control
Anonymity & Pseudonymity
Applied Cryptography
Attacks & Malicious Code
Authentication, Identification
Block & Stream Ciphers
Blockchain Security and Privacy
Cryptographic Algorithms and Primitivess
Cryptographic Protocols
Cyberphysical Security
Data and Application Security
Data and Computation Integrity
Data Protection
Denial of Service Protection
Distributed Systems Security
Embedded System Security
Formal Methods for Security
Hash Functions
Identity Management
Key Management
Language-Based Security
Malware Analysis and Detection
Network Security
Peer-to-Peer Security & Privacy
Privacy-Enhancing Technologies
Public Key Cryptography
Secure Distributed Computing
Security Architectures
Security Metrics
Security Models
Security Policies
Security and Privacy for Big Data
Security and Privacy in the Cloud
Security in Content Delivery
Security in Crowdsourcing
Security in Grid Computing
Security in the Internet of Things
Security in Location Services
Security in Pervasive Systems
Security in Social Networks
Sensor Network Security
Trust Management
Usable Security
Virtual Private Networks
Wireless and Mobile Security

Important Dates

Submission deadline: May 1 May 17, 2018, 23:59 UTC
Notification to authors: July 1, 2018
Camera-Ready: July 23, 2018, 23:59 UTC
Conference: Sept. 30 – Oct. 3, 2018


The conference will be held in Villa Doria D'Angri, one of the most beautiful villas in Posillipo, Naples. Wagner himself – enjoying the view of Naples from the Villa Doria d’Angri, where he was a guest in 1880 - found great inspiration here to compose his Parsifal, one of the most important opera of all time. This villa is one of the branches of Parthenope University, it also hosts a maritime museum which counts more than 160 types of ships.

The nearest metro station is Napoli Mergellina (~1.2km). We may offer a free shuttle service stopping at main city spots (to be communicated later).


Villa Doria D'angri - Naples Italy

We agreed some special offers with some hotels. More information about accomodation in Naples will be communicated later.
Hotel Paradiso is nearby the venue and provides special discount for the participants: 95eur single room, 110eur double room single occupancy, 130eur double room, 170eur double room with sea view (breakfast included in all the offers). Contact email: info@hotelparadisonapoli.it

Palazzo Esedra is ~4km from the venue and ~600m from the Metro Line 2 station of Napoli Campi Flegrei. They provide the following offers to the participants: 90eur single room, 105eur double room, 100 eur superior single room 100eur, 115eur superior double room (breakfast is included in all the offers). Contact email:  meeting@prestigehotels.it

Tourist and travel information will be added soon.

Special Issues

We are negotiating special issues with some journals about topics of relevance for CANS 2018.

Conference Organisation

Program Co-Chairs: Jan Camenisch IBM Research - Zürich, Switzerland
Panagiotis Papadimitratos KTH Stockholm, Sweden
Local and Organising Committee: Vincenzo Iovino (General Chair) University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Elena Pagnin Chalmers University, Sweden
Giuseppe Persiano University of Salerno, Italy
Giovanni Schmid (Organising Chair) CNR-Icar and Parthenope University, Italy
Publicity Chair: Giovanni Livraga University of Milan, Italy
Program Committee: Giuseppe Ateniese Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
  Tuomas Aura Aalto University, Finnland
  Reza Azarderakhsh Florida Atlantic University, USA
  Lejla Batina Radboud University, The Netherlands
  Elisa Bertino Purdue University, USA
  Erik-Oliver Blass Airbus Group Innovationss, France
  Sonja Buchegger KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  Jan Camenisch IBM Research - Zürich, Switzerland
  Jing Deng UNCG, USA
  Rafael Dowsley Aarhus University, Denmark
  Manu Drijvers IBM Research - Zürich, Switzerland
  Rachid El Bansarkhani TU Darmstadt, Germany
  Ali El Kaafarani University of Oxford, Mathematical Institute, UK
  Pooya Farshim ENS, France
  Elena Ferrari University of Insubria, Italy
  Lothar Fritsch Karlstad University, Sweden
  Chaya Ganesh Aarhus University, Denmark
  Peter Gaži IST Austria, Austria
  Esha Ghosh Microsoft, USA
  Dieter Gollmann Hamburg University of Technology, Germany
  Jan Hajny VUT Brno, Czech Republic
  Gerhard Hancke City University of Hong Kong, China
  Amir Herzberg Dept. of Computer Science, Bar Ilan University, Israel
  Julia Hesse ENS & CNRS, France
  Sotiris Ioannidis FORTH, Greece
  Vincenzo Iovino University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  Frank Kargl University of Ulm, Germany
  Stefan Katzenbeisser TU Darmstadt, Germany
  Florian Kerschbaum University of Waterloo, Canada
  Stephan Krenn AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Austria
  Ralf Kuesters University of Stuttgart, Germany
  Loukas Lazos University of Arizona, USA
  Zhe Liu University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  Panos Louridas Athens University of Economics and Business and Greek Research and Technology Network, Greece
  Songwu Lu University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  Evangelos Markatos ICS/FORTH, Greece
  Ivan Martinovic University of Oxford, UK
  Panagiotis Papadimitratos KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  Stefano Paraboschi Università di Bergamo, Italy
  Alfredo Rial University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  Pierangela Samarati University of Milan, Italy
  Alessandra Scafuro NCSU, USA
  Nolen Scaife University of Florida, USA
  Thomas Schneider TU Darmstadt, Germany
  Dominique Schroeder Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  Antonio Skarmeta Gomez Universidad de Murcia, Spain
  Claudio Soriente NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
  Willy Susilo University of Wollongong, Australia
  George Theodorakopoulos Cardiff University, UK
  Ari Trachtenberg Boston University, USA
  Frederik Vercauteren K.U.Leuven - ESAT/COSIC, Belgium
Steering Committee: Yvo Desmedt (Chair) University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Juan A. Garay Yahoo! Labs, USA
Amir Herzberg Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Yi Mu University of Wollongong, Australia
David Pointcheval CNRS and ENS Paris, France
Huaxiong Wang Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


In cooperation with: