Call for Papers

17th International Conference on

Cryptology And Network Security

Naples, Italy

Sept 30 - Oct 3, 2018

The annual International Conference on Cryptology and Network Security (CANS) focuses on current advances in all aspects of cryptology, data protection, and network and computer security. CANS 2018 is held in cooperation with the International Association of Cryptologic Research (IACR).The proceedings will be published in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series by Springer.

Submission guidelines

High quality papers on unpublished research and implementation experiences are solicited for submission. All papers must be original and not substantially duplicate work that has been published at or is simultaneously submitted to a journal or another conference/workshop with proceedings. All submissions must be written in English, at most 20 pages in Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) format, including title, abstract, and bibliography. The introduction should summarise the contributions of the paper at the level understandable for a non-expert reader. The introduction should also explain the relation to related work. At most 4 pages of supplemental material may be provided as well-marked appendices, however, the paper should be intelligible without this material. Submissions must be anonymous (no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments, or obvious references). The conference will also consider short papers, that is, submissions of up to 8 pages (in the LNCS format), for results that are not yet fully fleshed out or that simply require few pages to describe but still make a significant contribution. All submissions must be processed with LaTeX2e according to the instructions given by Springer. Submitted manuscripts must be typeset in plain Springer LNCS format, in particular without changing the font size, margins or line spacing.Submissions not meeting these guidelines may be rejected without consideration of their merits.
Papers must be submitted electronically in PDF format via easychair

Presentation and publication

At least one author of every accepted paper must register to the conference by the early registration deadline indicated by the organizers. Papers without a registered author will be removed from the proceedings. Authors have to present their own paper(s). Proceedings including all accepted papers will be published in LNCS and will be available at the conference.


Submission deadline: May 1 May 17, 2018, 23:59 UTC
Author notification: July 1, 2018
Camera-ready version: July 23, 2018, 23:59 UTC
Conference dates: Sept. 30 – Oct. 3, 2018

Areas of interest

Access Control
Anonymity & Pseudonymity
Applied Cryptography
Attacks & Malicious Code
Authentication, Identification
Block & Stream Ciphers
Blockchain Security and Privacy
Cryptographic Algorithms and Primitivess
Cryptographic Protocols
Cyberphysical Security
Data and Application Security
Data and Computation Integrity
Data Protection
Denial of Service Protection
Distributed Systems Security
Embedded System Security
Formal Methods for Security
Hash Functions
Identity Management
Key Management
Language-Based Security
Malware Analysis and Detection
Network Security
Peer-to-Peer Security & Privacy
Privacy-Enhancing Technologies
Public Key Cryptography
Secure Distributed Computing
Security Architectures
Security Metrics
Security Models
Security Policies
Security and Privacy for Big Data
Security and Privacy in the Cloud
Security in Content Delivery
Security in Crowdsourcing
Security in Grid Computing
Security in the Internet of Things
Security in Location Services
Security in Pervasive Systems
Security in Social Networks
Sensor Network Security
Trust Management
Usable Security
Virtual Private Networks
Wireless and Mobile Security

Conference Organisation

Program Co-Chairs: Jan Camenisch IBM Research - Zürich, Switzerland
Panagiotis Papadimitratos KTH Stockholm, Sweden
Local and Organising Committee: Vincenzo Iovino (General Chair) University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Elena Pagnin Chalmers University, Sweden
Giuseppe Persiano University of Salerno, Italy
Giovanni Schmid (Organising Chair) CNR-Icar and Parthenope University, Italy
Publicity Chair: Giovanni Livraga University of Milan, Italy
Program Committee: Giuseppe Ateniese Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
  Tuomas Aura Aalto University, Finnland
  Reza Azarderakhsh Florida Atlantic University, USA
  Lejla Batina Radboud University, The Netherlands
  Elisa Bertino Purdue University, USA
  Erik-Oliver Blass Airbus Group Innovationss, France
  Sonja Buchegger KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  Jan Camenisch IBM Research - Zürich, Switzerland
  Jing Deng UNCG, USA
  Rafael Dowsley Aarhus University, Denmark
  Manu Drijvers IBM Research - Zürich, Switzerland
  Rachid El Bansarkhani TU Darmstadt, Germany
  Ali El Kaafarani University of Oxford, Mathematical Institute, UK
  Pooya Farshim ENS, France
  Elena Ferrari University of Insubria, Italy
  Lothar Fritsch Karlstad University, Sweden
  Chaya Ganesh Aarhus University, Denmark
  Peter Gaži IST Austria, Austria
  Esha Ghosh Microsoft, USA
  Dieter Gollmann Hamburg University of Technology, Germany
  Jan Hajny VUT Brno, Czech Republic
  Gerhard Hancke City University of Hong Kong, China
  Amir Herzberg Dept. of Computer Science, Bar Ilan University, Israel
  Julia Hesse ENS & CNRS, France
  Sotiris Ioannidis FORTH, Greece
  Vincenzo Iovino University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  Frank Kargl University of Ulm, Germany
  Stefan Katzenbeisser TU Darmstadt, Germany
  Florian Kerschbaum University of Waterloo, Canada
  Stephan Krenn AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Austria
  Ralf Kuesters University of Stuttgart, Germany
  Loukas Lazos University of Arizona, USA
  Zhe Liu University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  Panos Louridas Athens University of Economics and Business and Greek Research and Technology Network, Greece
  Songwu Lu University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  Evangelos Markatos ICS/FORTH, Greece
  Ivan Martinovic University of Oxford, UK
  Panagiotis Papadimitratos KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  Stefano Paraboschi Università di Bergamo, Italy
  Alfredo Rial University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  Pierangela Samarati University of Milan, Italy
  Alessandra Scafuro NCSU, USA
  Nolen Scaife University of Florida, USA
  Thomas Schneider TU Darmstadt, Germany
  Dominique Schroeder Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  Antonio Skarmeta Gomez Universidad de Murcia, Spain
  Claudio Soriente NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
  Willy Susilo University of Wollongong, Australia
  George Theodorakopoulos Cardiff University, UK
  Ari Trachtenberg Boston University, USA
  Frederik Vercauteren K.U.Leuven - ESAT/COSIC, Belgium
Steering Committee: Yvo Desmedt (Chair) University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Juan A. Garay Yahoo! Labs, USA
Amir Herzberg Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Yi Mu University of Wollongong, Australia
David Pointcheval CNRS and ENS Paris, France
Huaxiong Wang Nanyang Technological University, Singapore